Now With Non-Jailbreak Solution for iPhone/iPad - Read more

 

Non-Jailbroken Devices Supported

Windows 10 Wi-Fi Sharing Feature Susceptible to Exploitation

        

Microsoft has finally released the latest and supposedly final stand-alone version of its Windows operating system, with the company planning to update its last version on regular basis. A large number of people are already getting the free upgrade, which is great, except that there is a serious security loophole present in Windows 10. The new Windows has a feature called Wi-Fi Sense that allows users’ Outlook and Skype contacts to use their Wi-Fi without even asking for permission or password. It means that any of your employees, friends, colleagues, neighbors or even that strange person you regret adding on Skype, can use your Wi-Fi by sitting at a certain distance from your device. Continue reading to find out more about this Windows 10 security issue.

How Wi-Fi Sense Can Possibly Exploit Its Users?

Wi-Fi Sense has made it easier for hackers to jump into your computer and get private information. Microsoft says that it keeps the passwords safe and that your Skype and Outlook contacts cannot get access to them. The computer will, however, get an encrypted password, something that can hardly be considered a reliable defense against hackers.

How Wi-Fi Sense Can Affect Your Device Security?

Anyone with good hacking skills can easily have access to all your computer data, including the confidential documents like your financial details, business details, personal details, etc. This thing is really dangerous, especially for business owners whose laptops are like a goldmine, full of valuable information about the company and its products. It is also common for people to create same password for all their accounts, thus making it easier for hackers to steal almost everything they want, whether it is your financial information or your social identity, by simply guessing the password of any one of your accounts.

Is There Any Solution?

Wi-Fi Sense is a built-in feature that comes with Windows by default, but fortunately, you can disable it. Just add “_optout” at the end of your Wi-Fi network and your job is done.

Microsoft is a big name and has obviously taken certain measures before designing this feature, but in today’s world of cybercrimes, it is better to be safe than sorry, and sharing Wi-Fi doesn’t qualify as being safe from any angle.

        

Recommended

Leave a Comment


one + 5 =

Optimized by SEO Ultimate