Now With Non-Jailbreak Solution for iPhone/iPad - Read more

 

Non-Jailbroken Devices Supported

How Private Is Google’s Incognito Mode

        

Private browsing mode is very convenient for those who wish to use the internet to search for things they don’t want others to know about. People may wish to search for gifts for others, ways to plan an event or perhaps even personal things they wouldn’t want others to know about. This is where private browsing comes in handy.

A number of modern search engines and browsers give users the option of searching using the private browsing mode which can be opted for from the beginning of the browsing session. By doing so, the history information of the user isn’t recorded in the browser. Thus, once the window has been closed, information from the private browsing session cannot be retrieved or viewed by anyone at any point.

It is however possible to achieve the same goal without having to search and use the internet with private browsing turned on. This can be done by clearing the search history, the cache files and the cookies once the browsing session is over. This will effectively remove any traces, will be easy to conduct and will not be as time consuming as it is with switching on the private browsing mode.

The private browsing mode works in a similar way in every search engine. The new browser window which is opened is different and independent from the main session and any additional tabs which may be opened in the window will be under the private browsing mode. This will then allow users to access as many websites as they would like. While most private browsing sessions are the same, there is a slight different between the private browsing mode of Firefox and the Incognito mode of Google Chrome.

When using the latter, you may have noticed that restoring a closed tab in that mode isn’t possible. While not everyone using this mode would be in need of doing so, those who have a habit of using it would find it difficult to re-open any tab they may have closed mistakenly in the browser. If you cannot remember the website or where you landed on the site from, it can be difficult for you to be able to open the site again.

Firefox on the other hand handles the windows in the private browsing mode as separate instances meaning that while the mode is activated, you can easily re-open tabs which you may have closed. In order to do so, you can simply use Ctrl-Shift=t or right click on the tab bar and choose the undo close tab option from the menu which will open up the tab you closed.

Just for an additional piece of information, Opera and Google Chrome work in the same manner while Internet Explorer and Firefox work similarly to one another. This is because the former two make use of Chromium. While some people do wonder why the search engines work differently when it comes to undoing tabs, there is unfortunately no formal or official answer for the question. The only possible answer is that Internet Explorer and Firefox handle their information on the window level whereas Google Chrome and Opera- Chromium based browsers handle information on a tab level.

 

Image credit: 360b-Shutterstock.com

        

Recommended

Leave a Comment


+ four = 5

Optimized by SEO Ultimate